Tags

, , , , ,

Ever since my parents began raising beef my mom has always called them moo moos.  It didn’t matter what we named them but she would stand out in the pasture with a bucket of oats for them and yell “HERE MOO MOOS” until they all came running over.  When my parents began raising grass-fed beef it was in order to receive a tax break; to some friends and family this was amazing news.  They were all raving about how good grass-fed beef was compared to store-bought-feed-lot-greasy beef.  I was amazed but my parents had a list of people that would have enabled to them to have a herd of about 15-20 cattle if only they had the room for them.

There is an increase in farmers taking the risk of raising grass-fed beef lately.  According to Christopher Weber in his article “Upping the steaks: How grass-fed beef is reshaping ag and helping the planet” there are a lot more farmers interested in raising grass-fed beef as opposed to feed-lot style herds.  One of the problems facing farmers is that of advertising; trying to get customers interested in buying their beef is difficult because not many like the high prices.  Their main claim is that of flavor.  I think that it is true that many people won’t buy beef just because it is organic or grass-fed and, therefore, better for the planet; I think that people will buy it for the flavor and taste.  Like when my parents started selling beef their first customers claimed that the flavor is many times better than the beef from the store.  I still think that buying something such as beef should include more than just flavor preference; however, the fact that people are beginning to think more about what they are buying and eating is a positive move in my mind.

