“At root, the skill of attentiveness manifests a willingness to love the world.”

The above quote, was shared by Norman Wirzpa, at a Food Ethics Conference at Warner a few weekends past. His words hit in the way that revelations do; however, I only had the feelings resulting from profound recognition. I was meant to sink into them, to find what I was meant to receive. I have learned that love without reason is hollow, and reason without love is cold.

 Gradually, I understood Wirzpa’s implications. Attentiveness is paying attention, and forfeiting rights we hold precious to ourselves, (time, energy, etc.), to a lucky recipient. Relationally, humans operate out of five different love languages. One of those is quality time. This happens to be my number one love language. No act of service can compare to undivided eye contact. This humble attentiveness from another person speaks wonders to me.

With our relationship to food, the “…willingness to love the world”, requires these same sacrifices. Investing into research for proper care provides an effective foundation to plant life. Giving your animals time to roam and grow speaks love that comes most naturally. The majority of our food production stagnates, rather than supports love. I’m not going to stand on a linguistic soapbox. Take time to learn your love language, (or take the love language test, it’s the first result on Google Search). Being aware of how you give and receive love, is one step closer to understanding how to live attentively. 

