Often times we hear that coffee is bad for our health, but the time has come where Harvard students are looking into and researching the effects of coffee on the human body. Why is this good news?

According to expert Dr. Rob Van Dam, from Harvard University, “Drinking up to six cups a day of coffee is not associated with increased risk of death from any cause, or death from cancer or cardiovascular disease”. I love coffee and when working and going to school its my stimulant along with exercise and to know it doesn’t necessarily harm, but in some ways protect it I can enjoy drinking coffee and doing other things I enjoy doing..

There’s a lot of non coffee drinkers out there that are misled with the myth of coffee being unhealthy and stunting the growth of the body, but do to studies by doctor Van Dam, coffee can actually improve some of our health in certain areas along with waking us up in the morning to get our early day started. Well how can coffee improve our health?

Research may show that coffee protects against type two diabetes, Parkinson’s Disease, liver cancer, and liver cirrhosis. Dr. Rob Van Dam doesn’t want people to just start drinking coffee because research is further being conducted, but for those already drinking coffee may experience some good things from it and  bad like any other thing we eat, but it all depends on the choices we make. My best decision is to minimize my consumption of coffee to three or four cups a day because I can be tired through out the day.

The big issue about coffee is the caffeine it consists of, but caffeine is only a stimulant and works with everything else contained in it. When reading the ingredients the coffee I was drinking consist of, I see better results on the label then I do in some of the food I eat. When making decisions you have to find a healthy coffee because not all of them have the same ingredients and those matter as well than coffee itself.

References:

Dr. Rob Van Dam:http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/coffee/

Alex Cane:http://www.alternet.org/food/myth-coffee-stunts-youth-growth

