Tags

, , ,

I’m sure everybody knows the old saying “An apple a day keeps the doctor away”. But is there ever a point when an apple is no longer an apple? If an apples enzymes were changed to not turn brown when exposed to the air, is that truly an apple? Would people want an apple that doesn’t brown? That is exactly what is discussed in an article written by Dan Charles called “GMO Apples Get The Nod, But Not Much Of A Welcoming Party“. Scientists have been able to create an apple that is grown on a tree and will not turn brown.

As a learning community, we very briefly talked about GMO’s last semester. I don’t know about you guys, but I am not a fan of GMO’s. For one thing, we still don’t know for sure whether they will harm our health or not. They have not been around long enough. Our generation is the “guinea pig” when it comes to GMO safety. Even if they discover some terrible health problem related to consuming GMO’s, it will be too late to turn back. You can’t restore something that is too far broken, like an apple’s enzymes.

I love eating natural food. I would choose fresh fruit over a processed snack any day. But I am afraid. I am afraid because the food industry is so good at hiding information and deceiving the consumers. These “new” apples will be label as “Arctic Granny” and “Arctic Golden” instead of the traditional Granny Smith and Golden Delicious. The uninformed consumer probably wouldn’t even notice the difference in these names. GMOs are becoming harder and harder to avoid.

My big issue with apples that don’t brown is simply that they don’t brown. That is not natural. Who knows what it will do to the nutritional value. When I was a lot younger, I would try and race the browning of the apple while I was eating it because I didn’t want to eat a brown apple. It was just a silly little game I would play while eating apples, but it was fun for some reason. But I don’t know if I consider an apple that doesn’t brown an apple at all. The apples that were put on this earth by God were meant to brown. Why must humans keep messing with all things natural? Where is the line drawn?

